Studywoo logo
college logo

Anna University [AU], Chennai

Chennai, Tamil Nadu 1978 Approved by ( AICTE | UGC | )



  • College Name:

    Anna University [AU], Chennai

  • State:

    Tamil Nadu

  • Official Website:

  • City:


  • Streams:

  • Courses:

  • College Type:

    State University,

  • Entrance Exams:


  • Contact Details:

    044-22357077, 22357073, 22357076, 22357264, 22357265,

  • Location:

    Sardar Patel Road, Old Highways Building, Guindy Chennai - 600025 Tamil Nadu , India

  • Estd:


  • Affiliates:

    AICTE | UGC |

Table of contents

AU Admission 2022-23 | Anna University UG & PG Course Last Date

Anna University [AU],is located in Chennai, Tamil Nadu. AU is a public state university which was established on 4 September 1978. The name was given by the former Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu C. N Annadurai. In September 2020 the bill passed by the Tamil Nadu Legislature Assembly re-constituted AU as an affiliating university for all the engineering colleges except the college which are a part of Anna Technological and Research University. AU is an affiliated university for more than 550 engineering colleges in Tamil Nadu. In 2001 under the Anna University Amendment Act, Anna University became an affiliating university for various engineering colleges which included six government engineering colleges, three government - aided private institutions, and 426 self – financing colleges.

 On February 1, 2007 the university was split into 6 by the decision made by the Government of Tamil Nadu. The six constituent universities were Anna University, Chennai, Anna University of Technology, Chennai, Anna University of Technology, Tiruchirappalli, Anna University of Technology, Coimbatore, Anna University of Technology Tirunelveli and Anna University of Technology, Madurai. But later on 14 September 2011, a bill was passed to re- merge all the institutions. In August 2012 the merging was completed. All the six universities were merged back to one university and among them four regional universities work as regional campuses of the universities. In September 2020, a bill was passed by the Tamil Nadu Government. The bill was for making the  four campuses in Chennai to be united  as a 'unitary type' institution and  it will be called 'Anna Technological and Research University' and a new affiliating university called  'Anna University' will be made to manage all the affairs of the affiliated colleges. These new Acts will be known as  Anna University (Amendment) Act 2020 and Anna Technological and Research University Act 1978.

There are many colleges which are affiliated to Anna University. Some of the main Universities are The university's campus is in Chennai,  campuses in Coimbatore, Tiruchirappalli, Madurai and Tirunelveli, engineering colleges at Villupuram, Tindivanam, Arani and Kanchipuram in Chennai region, Erode and Bargur in Coimbatore region, Panruti, Pattukkottai, Thirukkuvalai and Ariyalur in Tiruchirapalli region, Ramanathapuram and Dindigul in Madurai region, Nagercoil and Thoothukudi in Tirunelveli region.

AU Admission 2022-23

The university offers courses in engineering and technology. Admission procedure is through the marks they scored in higher secondary courses. For post graduation admission is carried out through  TANCET and GATE scores.