Studywoo logo
college logo

Jawaharlal Nehru University [JNU], New Delhi

New Delhi, Delhi NCR Approved by ( )



  • College Name:

    Jawaharlal Nehru University [JNU], New Delhi

  • State:

    Delhi NCR

  • Official Website:

  • City:

    New Delhi

  • Streams:

    Arts, Science, Computer Applications, Medical, Engineering,

  • Courses:

  • College Type:

    Central University,

  • Entrance Exams:

  • Contact Details:

    Reception - 011-26704090, 26742570, Academic - 26704050, Administration - 26704008, Admission - 26741236,

  • Location:

    New Mehrauli Road, Munirka New Delhi - 110067 Delhi NCR , India

  • Estd:

  • Affiliates:

Table of contents

JNU Admission 2022-23 | Jawaharlal Nehru University UG & PG Course Last Date

Jawaharlal Nehru University also known as JNU, is one of the leading college located in New Delhi, India. The college was established in 1969 and the name was given after India’s first Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru. The college was established by an act of parliament. On 1 September  the bill of Jawaharlal Nehru was placed on Rajya Sabha and one of the parliament member, Bhushan Gupta came up with an opinion that, this should not be yet another university, rather new faculties should be created along with scientific socialism and it should keep noble ideas  and provide opportunity for the students from weaker sections. On 16 November 1966, the JNU bill was passed and came into force on 22 April 1969.

The supreme authority of the university is The University court and it has the power to review the acts of the Executive Council and the Academic Council. The highest executive body is the Executive Council and the highest academic body is The Academic Council. The academic council controls the instructions, education and examinations of the university. The visitor of the university is The President Of India, the normal head of the university is the Chancellor and the executive head is the vice-Chancellor. JNU was awarded ‘visitor’s award’ for the best university by the President Of India. 

JNU Admission 2022-23

The  departments  of  JNU  have been divided into schools and centres and there are 20 such schools and centres. They are as follows:

  • School of Arts & Aesthetics

  • School of Biotechnology

  • School of Computational and Integrative Sciences

  • School of Computer and Systems Sciences

  • School of Engineering

  • School of Environmental Sciences

  • School of International Studies

  • School of Language Literature and Culture Studies

  • School of Life Sciences

  • Atal Bihari Vajpayee School of Management and Entrepreneurship

  • School of Physical Sciences

  • School of Sanskrit and Indic Studies

  • School of Social Sciences

  • Centre for the Study of Law and Governance

  • Special Centre for Disaster Research

  • Special Centre for E-Learning

  • Special Centre for Molecular Medicine

  • Special Centre for Nano science

  • Special Centre for National Security Studies

  • Special Centre for the Study of North East India

Along with this, the university has various recognised institutions across the country. The admission procedure is conducted through JNUEE conducted by NTA, National Testing Agency.